Lackawanna County DUI Lawyers
Proudly Fight For The Best Results in Your Case Serving Lackawanna County & the Surrounding Areas
Throughout Pennsylvania, it is strictly illegal for a driver to operate a motor vehicle while intoxicated or impaired. Doing so may result in a driving under the influence (DUI) arrest, charge, and ultimate conviction. However, as with any alleged criminal violation, there are always ways to defend yourself from the harsh, unforgiving criminal justice system if you get accused of a DUI.
To discover your rights and legal options after a DUI arrest, come to the criminal defense attorneys at O’Malley Law Office, LLC. Our Lackawanna County DUI lawyers are backed by decades of combined legal experience handling complex, high-stakes cases. We know how much is on the line and will do everything in our power to get you comfortably through this difficult time.
Can A Lawyer Really Help With DUI?
An experienced lawyer can help you many ways fight a DUI charge. Not only will they represent you in DUI proceedings criminal court, but a defense attorney can evaluate your case and can perhaps negotiate a plea deal, or receive a lesser penalty such as license suspension or attend driving school.
Start your case today by arranging a free initial consultation with our law firm.
Penalties for DUI Convictions in Lackawanna County Pennsylvania
You might be asking yourself, “What is the worst that could happen from a DUI conviction?” The answer is you may be stripped of your rights and driving privilege, as well as be forced to pay steep fines.
A person convicted of a DUI in Pennsylvania may be punished with the following:
- First-time DUI: $300 fine and initiation interlock device (IID) installation in certain situations.
- Second-time DUI: $2,500 fine, 6 months in jail, 12-month license suspension, and possible IID installation.
- Third-time DUI: $5,000 fine, two years in jail, 12-month license suspension, and possible IID installation.
The penalties for any conviction in Lackawanna County will be escalated further and further depending on the blood alcohol concentration (BAC) level of the criminal suspect. The higher the BAC reported at the time of the arrest, the steeper the penalties. Pennsylvania also does not permit plea bargains to be used to downscale DUI charges to “wet reckless” charges, which means you need to be ready to fight a legal battle. This is where our Lackawanna County DUI attorneys can step in, take over, and excel.
Chemical Test Refusal Penalties
The implied consent law of Pennsylvania states that you will take any mandatory chemical testing after a DUI arrest, or else accept the legal consequences. Refusing to take a mandatory chemical test will result in an immediate 12-to-18 month license suspension. You could be entirely sober and still suffer an extended license suspension simply due to refusing to take a chemical test, such as a blood, breath, or urine test back inside a police station.
Not sure if a chemical test is mandatory in Lackawanna County? You can ask the administering officer. If you are being told to take a test that is optional or not mandatory, then you have the right to refuse it without immediate legal consequences. For example, most field sobriety tests are not mandatory.
Get Your Defense Started Today – Call (570) 391-0866
The sooner you act in your defense after a DUI arrest, the better. The opposition is undoubtedly compiling a case against you and expects little to no resistance. Take the initiative by working with our Lackawanna County DUI lawyers today!
We serve Clarks Summit and Lackawanna, Scranton, Wyoming, Luzerne, Monroe, Wayne, and Susquehanna counties.